Posted on

Cutting through to the core.

image_098As I train more and more, I become more aware of my physical limitations at any given time. Of course these parameters change, of course I can influence them up to a certian point, but the physiology that I was born with cannot be radically altered. I can improve my musculature, watch what I eat and balance what I have into the most effective physical package.

The word or idea that I introduce to you today is- balance. I am a “salaryman” here in Japan, and that entails me sitting at a desk for at least 8 hours a day, often longer.  Allowing that to get out of control and make me start becoming sedentary in my free time, I might as well kiss my life goodbye.

Uh-uh. No way.

I let that happen the first three years I was in Tokyo, and it took my a good 4 months of hard physical slog to win my fitness and conditioning back. And here I will stay.

What did I learn from my sojourn in Europe, and what lessons will I apply to my lifetsyle back in the Japanese head office after April 1st?

1. Bike riding to work- 48 kms round trip, one way (24 kms) takes about an hour. I have a fixed gear road bike which will assist me in this endeavor. It takes me the same amount of time to get home whether I take the train or ride- which would you choose? I ride along the Tamagawa bike path, which can get very very windy, but thats all part of the fun. Aargh!

2. Utilize break times at work to do something: stretching body parts, going to the park at lunch and doing body weight resistance exercises, using the gym that I know is there at lunch time!

3. being aware of what I eat, when I eat, and maintaining a steady blood sugar level with good stuff, not crap.

4. Listening to my body- some days train hard, some days get up early and train before work.

5. Don’t eat the crap that they serve in the company cafeteria

6. Last but not least- work is work- it stays in the office, and all the thoughts and stresses that go along with it.

My workouts improve from day to day as I stretch my own paramaters of fitness and well being.

Always balance.

peace,

Markeu

edit

About mark_a

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy lifestyle

One response to “Cutting through to the core.

  1. Hey, cool tips. I’ll buy a glass of beer to that man from that chat who told me to go to your site 🙂

Leave a Reply

