Posted on

Fasting for health

I have decided for the sake of my health to fast once a week. Immediately I can hear screams from the audience- no! But yes, I am serious.

I lead a stressful life here in Japan- there is no escaping that fact, even with improved conditions in many areas. This does take its toll on my body, and as your average human being I find it very easy to slip back into old habits of not taking care of myself well enough, or eating without mindfulness, rushing, not feeling.Fasting is one way that I can cleanse myself regulalry of the stuff we call modern living.

Fasting has been a part of buddhist, christian, orthodox, hindu and muslim culture and many other cultures for millenia, and it is a very obvious way to cleanse the body of accumulated junk.

I read a very interesting book recently called “Eat Stop Eat”, introduced to me by my friend Rannoch from Simple Strength, and using that system as a base, will try to do this regularly.

It also means that for that 24 hour period, I need to be nice to myself; not too much exercise, plenty of sleep, plenty of water, and a balanced entry and exit point. I am already 16 hours in, and the thought of real food is about 8 hours away.

Surprisingly, it isnt as hard as I thought, but I still have the afternoon ahead of me! Its amazing how your senses wake up- the sense of smell most specifically!

About Marc

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy life.

One response to “Fasting for health

  1. Rannoch

    What is really interesting for me about all this stuff is how hard folk seem to find trhe “be nice” to yourself part. If you are going to explore the “edges” then you have to do so with one eye firmly on the “eject” button.

    Nothing we do should be about deprivation. If you come at it with that mentality you focus on what you don’t have rather than the sudden realisation that others senses have become more highly attuned.

    I also find myself really savouring that first meal after 24 hours, rather than the usual scramble at the end of the working day to get a meal on the table.

    Happy trails,

    Rannoch

Leave a Reply

