Posted on

Gas in the tank.

Well, the new boxing training has shown up the weaknesses in my aerobic strength and muscle resilience. I have noticed a loss 0f strength using the kbs this week due to the increased workload I am placing on my body with boxing and conditioning training.

This is to be expected; the main issue at this point is to work through it and beyond until I re balance myself accordingly. Definitely I can feel I am in an over training mode, and have rolled my training back a little so that my body recovers its footing.

Yesterday was a full day off- no training whatsoever, just rest and some good food. Its interesting to note for me that at this point in the past, I have often quit pursuing my goals, and given in for some reason or other. Instead of that, I will just throttle back and ease up on things for a bit till my body signals its readiness to go further. I can say that I am not experiencing a lot of muscle aches and pains, but is more of a general feeling of debilitation and of having pushed a little too hard of late.

As my buddy Rannoch would say, the trick is work at the the middle and the edge, not beyond. For me, I am still learning to define what that edge is with me, and to notice it coming before I drop over the edge unwittingly. Definitely developing a sense of patience is key here; patience to let my body adjust as it needs to, yet a continuing willingness by me to keep at it and focused.

Came home and hit the bells for a 40 minute session, and pinpointed where the weakness lies: the hands. A new, safer grip feels much weaker with the 24 kg bell, and I will have to build up both my forearms and hand strength to compensate.

Patience Grasshopper. Its all in the journey.11137178_400x4001

About Marc

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy life.

One response to “Gas in the tank.

  1. Rannoch

    Aha! Now, dialing back is key here. Those who are nice to themselves last the course.

    A key consideration is the discomfort factor. And this is a great way to stop going over the edge. Discomfort is acceptable, distress is not. You must learn the difference. This is a case of experiment but you should aim for composure throughout. If you are heading in to grimacing gorilla territory, chances are it’s time to stop, breath and regroup.

    Always live to fight another day.

    R

Leave a Reply

