Posted on

You are not alone!

Regardless of age, those among you, both men and women alike, who pursue serious exercise regimes and work these around a day job, probably struggle as hard as I do to get in and stay in shape. Over the last year I have read widely, gradually increased the discipline in my daily routine to a manageable level,  and achieved a balance where I can exercise regularly, eat well and stay sane with the rest of my life.

I did my regular weigh in today, showing a weight increase and a drop in body fat, right on par with my target. Body weight now is just under 69 kgs (151lbs for you Imperials) with a bmi index of about 11.6%. Apart from my regular exercise, I have about 5 weeks under my belt of a regular fast occurring on a thurs night- fri night, and my ongoing overall total fitness regimen is now not a stress factor.

The real test though was last week’s full physical medical exam and the two reports a year apart reflecting two different people, both of them me.

I am not going to give you any exotic solutions or new product plugs regarding how I am achieving these goals; rather, I am going to say quite honestly that it is in most part due to the excellent guidance and advice that I have received from my friends throughout the global fitness community. These individuals have been instrumental in the last year or so getting me back on track with myself, help me clarify my own personal goals, and assist me to develop realistic and doable strategies that are getting me there one day at a time.

The moral of the story is this: you need friends, an open mind, flexibility to know when things aren’t working, and the big picture discipline to carry out whatever regime you have planned.

I can now honestly say in this day and age that all of us, regardless of which country your pc is located and on whichever continent, are now part of a a global fitness society that can interact amongst its members at any time of day. Thanks to social networking tools like Facebook, MySpace and Twitter, we can keep in contact with like minded individuals located half a planet away and get their support and encouragement while at the same time sending ours.

This is a great time for being healthy. With all the knoweldge and resources available over the net, ther eis no real reason why you cannot keep yourself informed.

For those of you, foreigners perhaps living in a different country surrounded by a different culture and society, it is all too easy to feel that you have no support and that your own personal integrity is secondary to work and duty.

Think again. I say that your duty first lies with yourself and those close to you, for in knowing yourself and your limitations, it will make you a better worker and asset to your company.

Plug yourself in with people doing what you do, share your experiences, and support and encourage each other in this game called life.

Back in my teaching days, I used to ask this question:

Which one is correct, live to work, or work to live?

This is something that only you can answer and only have to justify with yourself.

But please just remember, when the going gets tough and your own personal balance and targets start slipping away under the worries of modern day living, you are not alone.

Get out there and communicate with the global family of like minded individuals who seek a better  and balanced way, just like you do.

Cheers,
Markeu

About mark_a

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy lifestyle

Leave a Reply

