Posted on

In and out

Trained with Jan last Sunday night, working on punching the heavy bag, body and and leg position, avoiding punches, ducking and slipping, and finished off with the mits. I am starting to become very much aware of the rhythm that is behind any great fighter, and am also lucky to have a mentor such as Jan who can break things down in such a way that I can digest things piece by piece, and build from that into real physical understanding.

Such rhythm must take years to perfect, and I have a long term view on my own development as any sort of boxer or puncher. As I have heard over and over again, so much comes from the legs and torso.The feet, the base of everything, the body rotation and the rhythm of everything coming to fruition when the hand hits the target without the boxer losing balance.

Watching him hit the bag was like beauty in motion with so much power, as I called it, like chopping a tree. As for me…back to the basics!

My muscles are starting to adapt to the extra work I am demanding of them, and didn’t give me any grief this time during or after the workout. Relaxed, with focus at the end of the punch, punching through…all good stuff, that takes time to develop.

There is so much to learn that it reminds me of how martial art training in the East is traditionally described: first one must learn the technique, then one is caught in the technique, then one is released from the technique into pure expression.

The fact that I have to balance all this against my 9-5 and fit the training in where best I can, that is the real challenge. To remain consistent, to bob like a cork with schedule changes, unexpected events and my body’s energy cycles.

Boxing, and the kettlebell, what more could one want out of exercise?

For now I just hit the bag and breathe in and out as best I can….

About Marc

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

