Posted on

Here it comes….

Lifestyle change. Capital letters. I am tired of constantly struggling with food choices, and wading through the slew of false information out there as to what is best for you, good for you, fat free etc. I can say that in many regards I am as confused as my stomach feels after a normal meal.

In other aspects of my life and training, things are definitely improving. I am hitting some of my own personal training goals, bringing in more and more kettlebell practitioners, and keeping a pretty good balance between work and down time. I stopped drinking alcohol 2 months ago, and I can say that I feel differently because of it. But I really wish that I could get more of a peace of mind from what I eat.

Now I want my regular food intake to support me in a cogent way, hence I have been edging slowly over the last few months towards the Paleo lifestyle.

Don’t know what it is? Have a look in my links bar and take your pick 🙂

Lets just say I am sticking my toes into the water right now and seeing how I feel, reading up differing approaches to emulating a paleo lifestyle in the modern world, and then brainstorming on how I can support that lifestyle change here in urban jungle Tokyo.

To others who might be considering a similar move in the near future, here is a great piece by the recently retired blogger Methuselah of Pay Now, Live Later who pretty much nails many peoples pet fears and misunderstandings about changing what they eat to a Paleo system and how to get there gradually.

Its going to means saying goodbye to grains and sugars for a start. But if it means I am going to look and feel healthier, so be it.

Gotta get back to study.

Peace.

About Marc

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy life.

5 responses to “Here it comes….

  1. Andrew ⋅

    Please don’t eat the Paleo diet if health is what you seek.

    Like you I was confused for years and have found what scientific research shows to be the most natural diet with the most healthy benefits – a whole foods, plant based diet.

    Read ‘The China Study’ to discover the real risks of eating meat.

    Check out 30bananasaday.com to see the fruit based community eating 80/10/10 carbs/protein/fat. People are thriving eating this way.

    I have lost 30 lbs of body fat, all the pains in my joints and my fatigue from following an 80/10/10 plant based eating plan. I am never hungry and eat far more food than I ever have.

    Check it out.

  2. Sam ⋅

    Mark: The answer you seek is in the interview you did with Mark Sisson of MarksDailyApple.com and The Primal Blueprint about a year ago. No need to reinvent the journey. Here’s what he told you:

    “Start by cutting out the sugars. No desserts, candies or colas/sodas. Next start cutting grains (pastas, cereals, breads, pastries, etc). That alone will result in huge benefits. It takes a few weeks of discipline to cut these out, but when you do so and realize you can eat all the meat, veggies, fruits, nuts etc whenever you find yourself hungry – and still lose weight – it’s a powerful thing. After about three weeks, you lose the cravings for the carbs and simultaneously your body starts learning to extract most of its energy from your stored fat. At that point you are well on your way. The exact process is detailed in my book The Primal Blueprint (www.primalblueprint.com)”

    • markeu

      Hi Sam,
      Thanks for the comments. You are probably also aware that there are quite a few variations on the Paleo lifestyle, so me being the researcher I am, like to check them all out. Mark’s work is excellent for sure. Have already started my transition!

      Cheers,

      Mark

  3. Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you
    know a few of the images aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

Leave a Reply

