Posted on

Questions from readers

Here’s a question from one of my regular readers, Sharperatio:

You’re halting workouts for a month and a half? Why? I can understand taking a week off and even two weeks off. If I were a fighter or a pro athlete, I could understand a complete stop after a fight or after the season ended. The soviet Olympic athletes had a training tempo of three weeks on and one week off. I would definitely stop working out if I were ill or needed a medical procedure. Work, travel, injury all conspire against setting and keeping a regular schedule. Why the stoppage in your case? Is a big break something that Steve Cotter or Ken Blackburn have prescribed, and if so, why? When I try to work out regularly, I frequently have enough interruptions to jar consistency. If I feel like it’s all too much, I ratchet back and adjust my workouts, increase rest times or more rest days, space out the workouts, consider other exercise methods for variety, add sleep, etc.

Actually, although I am finished the 8 week program, I am continuing my training and working on building a more solid foundation of strength and flexibility for the next cycle of training at the end of January. The intensity is down in some ways for the kettlebells, but I am now focusing more on GPP work (general physical preparedness) to keep my body primed in my little off season.
The GPP stuff is very challenging, especially as you start working with heavier weights and race against yourself to better your time each performance.
Its December and workloads can be busy, not to mention the other year end activities which interrupt our training time and concentration. Taking this all into account, I am “dialing back” so to speak in some ways, and concentrating on increasing flexibility work as well as overall conditioning.
I have been pushing hard on the ‘bells and it feels great. However, I need to give my body a bit of a break as I adjust to other realities. I have put on a bit of muscle and now I have to get used to carrying that around and not letting it impede my sports performance. I also now require a higher level of flexibility to perform the GS lifts correctly. And in general, I have to get used to a more intense physical lifestyle that must live in tandem with my daily work life.
Its a challenge for sure!
About Marc

international businessman and consultant, life coach, world traveler and wandering mystic who loves keeping fit and is endlessly learning how to lead a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

